Crock Pot Tortellini Soup

First, let me just say…HOLY MOTHER OF ALL THAT IS DELICIOUS. Okay, now that that’s out-of-the-way, let me share with you the recipe along with my slight modifications.

Note I: This recipe is very very easy!
Note II
: I found this recipe on one of those Facebook share thingies, no idea where it originated from.
Note III: My modifications to this recipe will be italicized in parenthesis.

I did my own serving sizes (to get a calorie count) and made sure to evenly distribute the tortellini, spinach, and broth to make each serving roughly the same calorie amount.

2 cups per serving = 5 servings = 375 calories per serving. It is plenty! I was so full after. It is quite a rich soup. 🙂

Crock Pot Tortellini Soup
~1 bag of frozen tortellini (I bought just a bag of plain cheese ones)
~1 small bag of fresh spinach
~2 cans of Italian style diced tomatoes (I could not find this in diced, so I bought the Italian Style stewed tomatoes and just gave them a few runs with my knife, no big deal. But you want Italian Style specifically because this is what gives the soup its flavor!)
~1 box or 4 cups of vegetable broth
~1 block of cream cheese (I used Philadelphia 1/3 less fat cream cheese)
~put all ingredients in crock pot, chunking up the cream cheese (I set the cream cheese out to soften a bit and just broke chunks off and stuck them near the bottom and worked my way up, it will dissolve as it gets warmer in the crock.)
~Cook on low for 5-6 hours (I have a 4 qt crock pot which took 5-6 hours, remember if your crock pot is bigger, cut down the time on cooking. I also stirred it every hour and a half or so to get those spinach leaves rotated off the top of the crock.)

Here’s a before and after picture I snapped just for you guys ❤ Mangia

Couldn't find a picture of it to go with the recipe, so I made my own.

Couldn’t find a picture of it to go with the recipe, so I made my own.

❤ Beckie

Leave a Reply

