Put the Technology Down!

I am in my mid-late 20’s and I am shocked to see how many people are attached to their handheld devices. I grew up in an age where people talked with one another in public…yes, public. We weren’t glued to the television or our Nintendo. We used our imaginations with GI Joe/Ninja Turtle action figures (or Barbie’s for us gals…and I never had body image issues from that either.) What’s happened?

Do you know what I see today? Let me give you an example (or two).

#1- I was at the doctor’s office and was waiting to get my blood drawn a couple of weeks back. I was standing in line with 6 people and 1 older man. I struck up a conversation with the woman next to me and we had a lovely little chat (you can find that you have common ground with almost anyone, seriously…I wouldn’t lie to you) until she was called in to get her blood drawn from the vampire…oops, I mean “Phlebotomist.” So there I was, having a look around at the 5 people and older man when it hit me. All the people, except the older man, were on their mobiles. The older guy saw me looking around with my eyebrows raised and he shook his head and smirked at me. He understood.

#2- I will be with my friends and it’s as if they can’t go more than 10 minutes without looking at their iPad, iPhone, iPod, or Kindle. Yes, these are great resources and have helped me when I want to “Google” something or check the weather before leaving the house without booting up my computer. It frustrates me. I want to say, “Are you bored with this conversation?”

We are turning into technology zombies. It needs to stop. Put it down and start interacting with the world around you!

Leave a Reply

